DXV 100/A

Erika Silverstein

If these questions were adressed in another thread, or even another website/forum, please direct me -- if not, I have some questions for y'all about the DVX 100A:

Maybe this is due to my untrained eye, as I'm not a professional videographer or engineer...but the whole point with prosumer cameras is that you don't need to be. Or maybe it's the crappy tv I'm using as a tap? Or the lack of detail in the camera EVF/LCD?

But at the risk of sounding like a total idiot, I am admitting right now there are some Scene File Settings that don't seem to make ANY DIFFERENCE in the image.

Can someone help me out, tell me why that is (maybe this is stuff you only notice when you xfer to film)? Or explain what I should be looking for so I can see the difference? Are the changes *meant* to be THAT subtle? That's fine...I just want to know why I'm not seeing them.

For example: Detail Coring (not seeing a change). Skin Tone Detail (diddly squat). Vertical Detail (thin, mid thick...they all look the same!). Knee/Auto Knee (I know I should be seeing some change in the highlight areas, right? But...nope).

Also, what is the Marker function (linked to the Zebra bars function, but not sure how)?

Erika asked:

Maybe this is due to my untrained eye, as I'm not a professional videographer or engineer...but the whole point with prosumer cameras is that you don't need to be. Or maybe it's the crappy tv I'm using as a tap? Or the lack of detail in the camera EVF/LCD?