Kino Flo tubes in standard striplight fitting?

• Premium Member

Yes, but you have to match the type of connectors. Most Kino tubes are the old 2-pin T12 but they are now making them in the newer T8 style:

http://www.kinoflo.com/Kino%20Flo%20lamps/...20Match.htm#900

Most of the basic hardware store fluorescent shop lights use T12 connectors.

Im not very technically proficient when it comes to light fittings. Do i have to consider flicker problems? If not, when does the issue of flicker apply? Sorry about the garbled tone of this question, the issue of flicker confuses me.

Apparently there is less flicker if you use what are called High Frequency ballasts. It really depends on the kind of ballasts in the fittings. More modern fittings tend to be high frequency but it's something you definitely need to check. If you shoot in old buildings tho, the existing fittings are usually nasty old things they havn't changed since the 70's or something. Well it depends on which old buildings but I've run into a few.

Also watch out for the term "strip light", I've seen this used to mean some other kind of weird lighting that comes in tubes but basically is something like a tubular tungsten lightbulb. This fitting obviously won't take flo's. They are preety weird and I've never got my head round them, but they must be fairly common as they sell the tubes in Morrisons!

If you are shooting on daylight balanced stock such as 250d (which I get the impression you aren't but I thought I would say anyway!) there are also now somewhat cheap daylight balanced tubes available. You have to get ones with what is called a high CRI rating. If you search the forum you will find all kinds of neat stuff about diy flo's. Obviously there aren't cheap tungsten balanced tubes out there to the best of my knowledge, so in that situation you would probably have to use real kino tubes.