simulating sunlight in small spaces

Michael Jasen

Hey all! Brand new to this site. Seems like an excellent resource.

I'm a film student shooting my first solo project on 16mm film. Two of my scenes involve the scene being in a small space, and each space should look as tough the only motivated light is the sunlight coming from the window.

One of the rooms has a window but it is located off camera in a space about 3 x 3 feet, where I was planning on putting at least one light.

The second space does not have a window. I was going to simulate the look of the light falling onto the floor from a window shape, then cutting to an actual window.

I'm really just curious about how to get that overall "sunlight" look in the room without using actual sunlight. The window does not create enough light in the one scene, I thought about blacking out the window all together so I wouldnt have to deal with the color temperature change.

My first instinct to to just one huge light placed out the window, or where the window should be. In my head, if you do this, everything will just kind of work itself out.The shadows should all look natural...But my instincts also tell me this probably wont work. Whats the best way to tackle lighting this?

I have a feeling I've described this very poorly. Im new! If anyone cares to help, and needs more information, just let me know.

Thanks everyone!

Hey Michael,

I'm fairly new to this too and I recently dealt with this problem for my first time as well, sort of, I had 2 windows. What type of light are you looking for? What time of day?