Apple color for Final grade?

Guest Stephen Murphy

Guest Stephen Murphy

Just wondering what the consensus is on Apple Color as a pro grading tool? On one of the projects I'll be working on shortly the Producer is keen to use a smaller post house that use Apple as their color correction software. I've never used it before and I'm curious how it performs? Does it have power windows? Mastering to a HDcam video master. Im inclined to give it a try provided we have a good colorist on board but id like to hear opinions from anyone who's actually used it.

Guest Stephen Murphy
I'm going to be grading a feature with Color at the end of March. I'll let you know how it works out.

Thanks Stuart - are you going to grade it yourself or will you be working with a colorist?

• Premium Member

Stephen~

I timed a film a few months ago on color - it does have power windows and most everything else you'd expect/ask for. Like most things it really depends on your colorist (I fortunately had a great one).

The one thing that bothered me was the rendering time - we weren't working in real-time, so the film would play back at something like 15fps - if we had a window that we had to track with a movement, we'd have to lay it down, render out the clip, watch it, then adjust as needed. Took a bit longer than usual, but beyond that I had no complaints.

To be fair, though, I wasn't doing very much in the session other than some minor tweaks for matching - your results may vary if you're doing a lot of the look in post.

Guest Stephen Murphy

Thanks Jayson thats exactly the info i was looking for. Does anybody know if the render time is hardware dependent or is it a character of the software?

Guest tylerhawes

Hi Stephen,