Creating a good workspace for Color Correction

Rodrigo Silvestri

Hi. I am an Argentinian film student and, with luck, a future Director of Photography.

I am one of those who think that you have to know all the tools first, and to let the creativity do its work. I like to have the whole control of the images of my projects, and now I am starting to learn about color correction.

I changed my Mac some months ago, and am getting really used to Final Cut Studio. I started using Color a month ago, doing tests and things like that, which led me to start reading about color grading.

Something that I read among all the things, and that called my attention, was that some colorists have a white card with a pure-white light that they can turn on to use as a reference.

I am really interested in buying a good 6500ºK light and a white card, but would want to know where to buy it.

Some months ago I was studying by myself all about high CRI fluorescent light, and concluded that even a 99CRI light can be greenish, because the CRI doesn't directly mean the color, but the amount of "color ranges" that the light emits.

So I know that what I need is a good pure-white light. And I even think that it doesn't need to be high CRI, because I am only interested in reproducing a 6500ºK white with it, and not other colors. Is this correct?

Can anyone recommend me a brand or place to look for a light like this?

Can LED light be an option?

I could use an incandescent light with filters, but I would need to change it often because their color temp. decreases with time.

Thank you,

Rodrigo

Guest tylerhawes
Something that I read among all the things, and that called my attention, was that some colorists have a white card with a pure-white light that they can turn on to use as a reference.

I am really interested in buying a good 6500ºK light and a white card, but would want to know where to buy it.