What Prime to use

Hello,

I am just starting out as a student, and I was wondering how one goes about selecting which lenses to use for particular shots? Is there a rule of thumb? Besides the obvious (deep focus, shallow depth of field) how does one go about choosing whether to use a 28mm or a 50mm? Are there some questions you should ask yourself on set to make these decisions?

Hello,

I am just starting out as a student, and I was wondering how one goes about selecting which lenses to use for particular shots? Is there a rule of thumb? Besides the obvious (deep focus, shallow depth of field) how does one go about choosing whether to use a 28mm or a 50mm? Are there some questions you should ask yourself on set to make these decisions?

I would suggest that you take a camera stills or other and look at the difference between the two.

You will notice for example that the same frame can be obtained with any focal length lens by moving closer or farther from the subject. What changes is the perspective. There is flattening of perspective with longer focal lengths and "distortion" with shorter focal lengths.

The choice of focal lengths is determined by how you want the subject to look.

Often we are forced to use certain focal lengths because to achieve a certain composition in a tight space it is necessary to use a wider focal length than we would like.

A lot of it is a mix of personal taste, common sense and the limitations of the set.