Pull Processing - first attempt

I've processed quite a bit of film, but all of it has been standard processing. I just shot a music video and I have a good bit of control over the look. I want to play with things a bit this time. I shot a little over a one stop over-exposure in mostly bright sun with either straw or choclate #1 filters. I did this with a pull one process in mind. I'm just wondering if there is anything that will be irreversible if I process this way? Trying to leave what I know is safe, and start doing what I know will look good.

• Premium Member

I'm just a newbie student cinematographer but a long time professional

photographer. I'm not sure that you understand pulling process,forgive me

if I'm wrong. When you pull you overexpose the film(use a lower ASA).

Then with processing you underdevelop the film. Now here's a problem you

will run in to. Most of today's negative films are developed with automated

processing and this process does not allow you to make adjustments. Act-

ually pushing is a more widely accepted way. Pushing involves underexposing

the film(higher ASA setting) and then overdeveloping to compensate. Now I'm

speaking about "negative" film here. The main reason for pushing film is to

achieve good results in low light shooting. If you are going to push I would

speak with lab who's doing the processing. They should be able to vary pro-

cessing times to achieve acceptable results. Are you doing your own dark room

work? Dipping? Dunking? I have no experience with straw or choclate filters.

Greg Gross

• Premium Member

Once you request on the lab report for special processes like PULL or PUSH on your negative and they develop it according to what you're instructions you can't go back and reverse it. Pulling tightens grain and lowers contrast and softens colors. And since you're finishing in telecine you can add contrast, adjust colors and if needed add more grain in the transfer.