How to Prevent Filter Flare?

Juan Swartz

I'm using a 4x4 Classic Soft 1

homemade filter holder

Canon 7d, 50mm 1.8

This is my first time using a square filter, and I keep getting hardcore mirror reflections from lights in the scene, obviously there's some way to prevent this because there's practical lights in movies all the time, so how do they solve this issue?

Flares in action

post-34443-1260359567.jpg

Edited by Juan Swartz

• Premium Member

you need to block light out from comming into the back of the filter, as well as utilize eyebrows and side flags for a mattebox to shield the lens as much as you can.

Pro matteboxes have a rubber or foam doughnut on the back of them which is the same size as the front diameter of the lenses you're using (often more than 1 per matte box) to make sure no stray light gets in from behind, and my Arri MB has and eyebrow as well as side flags which inch in and out of position to cut as much stray light as possible. This combined with mattes in the front which accommodate the FoV of certain lenses (e.g. 20-25mm) and block out everything else also help eliminate stray light problems.

Though, truthfully that looks a lot more like LENS flare to me. My Nikon 50mm F1.4 exhibited the same issues when mounted to a digital camera.... film lenses are very well designed and coated to eliminate a good deal of flare...and still lenses often aren't.

you need to block light out from comming into the back of the filter, as well as utilize eyebrows and side flags for a mattebox to shield the lens as much as you can.