Lighting To Emphasize Mood

Hi there people,

This is a call out for advice about how to light a set. I desperately want to emphasize a feeling of anger and tension. I feel I should be able to compliment my shots with the lighting but am unsure how to go about it.

The shots are already rather dark, film noir-ish. But there is just something extra that I think these shots need. For me they are still sort of lacking. So...

I was thinking maybe a red kicker???

Any advice?

Hi,

Im no expert, but I think a red kicker should be used when there's an actual source of red light in the scene (submarine.ect.) Otherwise it looks a bit funny. But thats just me, i'm not a big fan of pure formalism. Peter Jackson used to do this in his early B-films like Meet the feebles and Dead Alive (braindead) and it looks O.K in the context of these films... cuz there're just bold, gory, absurd and extremly funny. Unlike white, yellow, or blue, red is not a color you see everyday in terms of lighting, except if you're a bouncer in a stripclub. So Red might distract the viewer.

You can emphasize anger and tension purely with camera angles IMO. The final confrontation in Rear Window is a good example (just pretending I know what Im talking about). There's nothing fancy in the lighting. It's all camerawork. And it works very well indeed.

THats just my opinion, a real expert will probably step in any minute and tell you otherwise.

Its all good :P

Cheerios

Ben

Edited by Benny_the_kid

• Premium Member

I think a visual style and setting is very important for a film. I'm just not sure you should do the most obvious thing. Every time you make a stylistic choice for something, I would argue that the most removed style from that would ALSO be a viable approach. Meaning that there is no single way to solve any given scene.