Canon EOS lenses on a Bolex

Ryan Silva

Hello, I'm a film student who just recently bought a Bolex H-16M to start experimenting with 16mm. I have a few decent quality Canon EOS lenses (50mm 1.4 in particular that I like using) and am curious about using the EOS lenses on the bolex. Adorama and B&H both sell E0S-to-C-mount adapters (http://www.adorama.com/VDCMEOS.html), and I am wondering a few things:

Primarily,

Will I have any issues with viewing the image in the viewfinder?

Also, I know of certain Bolex cameras only take certain kind of lenses (the REX models, if I'm not mistaken?) but I'm not sure whether or not the H-16m will have these issues.

And will there be any vignetting, etc. that would lessen the image quality? I plan on taking the camera to do some shooting during NYC's fashion week and use it as a possible spare camera so I can get some footage in film -- footage that I'd rather not have any distinct anomalies in.

And of course, is it worth purchasing -- I'm planning on buying a 17-85mm f2 Berthiot in the near future.

Thanks in advance.

Edited by Ryan Silva

I shoot with a Canon FD lens on my Bolex with a C-mount adapter, and am really happy with the results. I'd assume you'd be fine with EOS lenses, too...just as long as whatever lens you are using will operate manually. Seeing through the viewfinder should be fine too. As long as your viewfinder/diopter is focused for your eye, what you see through the viewfinder should be what you get on film.

Keep in mind with the smaller 16mm image area, what you see through the viewfinder and your final 16mm image will be cropped in on 2x tighter than if you were shooting with the same lens on your 35mm camera. Since this is the case, vignetting should not be a problem.

Example, if you like the framing of a 50mm lens on a 35mm camera, you're going to want to use a 25mm lens on your 16mm Bolex for the same framing.