16mm vs. 35mm labeling issue

Adam Nikolaidis

I've been reading the forums for a while now, but this is my first time posting. I tried searching for this, but didn't seem to come up with anything useful.

I'm aware that, for example, a lens length of 25mm is 25mm, whether or not it's on a 16mm camera or a 35mm camera (though the FOV is clearly different). I'm wondering, however, if manufacturers have ever "compensated" for the difference in FOV between these negative sizes by mislabeling the length? E.G., are there any lenses out there labeled for use with 16mm cameras that have a true length of 25mm but are labeled "50mm"?

I don't think this is the case, but a representative from a (in my understanding reasonably reputable) used equipment vendor seemed to indicate that he thought a specific 25-250mm 35 lens would look like 50-500mm, but implied that a 15-150mm Super16 lens would not suffer the same relative change in FOV to 30-300mm (for a 16mm camera). It could be that I'm misreading his email, but I wanted to make sure I'm not totally off base in assuming that the 15-150 and 25-250 would both have the same relative difference in FOV when used with a (Super)16mm camera.

Is this another case of seeming misinformation? Is he on crack? Am I?

Reading this over, I hesitate to even bother asking because it seems so obvious to me. A response of "Adam, you are not on crack" would be clear enough.

Thanks,

Adam

Edited by Adam Nikolaidis

• Premium Member

I'm not sure who's on crack here, maybe it's me, because I couldn't quite understand your middle paragraph.

I think you've got it right, a 25mm is a 25mm lens; hence a 15-150 is a 15-150 and a 25-250 is a 25-250 no matter what camera it's on. The field of view changes between formats, regardless of what lens gets swapped between them. There's no way the field of view changes between film formats with one lens but not another.