I'm studying 16mm film production and have come to the subject of sound syncing.

I will be recording sound with an analog tape recorder. I imagine an audio recorder with crystal sync and timecode (no pilot channel) is best, but if I choose to shoot with an older camera will there be an issue of compatibility? The options for audio recorder seem to be either crystal sync with pilot channel or crystal sync with timecode, but not both. How common is timecode in 16mm cameras and how does it work?

Many thanks for your knowledge,

David

Some 16mm cameras have built in time code, such as some Aatons fitted with Aatoncode, but many don't. As long as the camera has a crystal controlled motor you can can manually sync up with audio time code using a time code slate or even just the traditional clap slate. The important part is that the audio has a crystal generated reference that it can lock onto during playback either in the form of pilotone or time code. The editor will need to sync up each shot, however, editors tended to check the sync anyway because the time code between camera and audio didn't always lock during the automatic syncing process.

With the camera generated time code, you'll need to use a telecine that can read the time code on the edge of the film.