Grading with the Gray Scale

James R Blann

Hi all,

I'm currently in my first year studying cinematography in the UK. For our end of year film there is no grading and probably minimal

lab work to see, I guess, what we can do with the negative as we're shooting on 16mm. I was wondering if anyone has had any

experience playing with colours by lighting the grayscale in different ways to adjust colour temperature. Of course there's the typical

3200K/5600K balance but has anyone ever played around with different combinations?

Cheers!

• 2 months later...

That is an interesting concept......I was just searching the web to see if anyone had done that. We just installed new lcd monitors in the studio and another tech has been adjusting them. I am old school where you adjust the red blue green to get the temperature that you want so it will reproduce on a camera.(usually on the red side) Now we have LCD tv's and if you use an off the shelf monitor you are lucky if you have some handles to control anything. I was just thinking if you take and put a grey scale on the monitor and then shoot it with a camera and look at that camera output on a waveform monitor, you could null out the chroma on the steps from back to white or minimize them with the adjustments on the monitor. If you experiment with this I would like to know your result......I have seen some try to adjust just the hue on the monitor, but that will get just one

color close, all the others will be off......I am a transmitter engineer right now, but for years and years I also adjusted broadcast cameras. Good Luck with your film......

Bill

Hi all,

I'm currently in my first year studying cinematography in the UK. For our end of year film there is no grading and probably minimal

lab work to see, I guess, what we can do with the negative as we're shooting on 16mm. I was wondering if anyone has had any