Getting into film without a film degree

Amie Dibbern

Hello, everyone!

So I'm a fifth-year college student, but I only realized my "calling" as a cinematographer this past December. I'm a little surprised and upset that it took this long to realize that this is what I need to do with my life, but...that's the way life goes, I guess.

I've spoken with some of my teachers in the theater department, and many of them insist that I don't need a film degree to be a cinematographer. However, I can't help but feel as though I'll be at a disadvantage. I'm not getting the training I need to do what I love and want to do. I'm not making the connections I need to be making to be successful. I'm willing to work my tail off, and I want to learn, but breaking into the business, only to learn when I get there, seems a little odd to me.

If there's any advice anyone can give me as to what I should consider (short of transferring again and more or less scrapping the education I've gotten so far, because I can't afford to do that), I'd appreciate it greatly!

• Premium Member

Degree not really necessary. Granted you'll get some trigger time on cameras and make some connections; sure, but you might be a bit better off served by buying a vDSLR and shooting some projects-- 48 film fest things, you're own little projects to build up a reel and the like.

I didn't learn too too much from film school classes proper, and unless you're going to one of the top schools (which you could for an MFA) the network you make may not be worth all that much-- outsiders on the outside and the like.

The real connections and the like will come from working on projects, especially outside of school.

my 2 cents.

• Upvote 2