New here, have a question....

I have no experience in filmaking,but i know quite a bit about it just from ive watching movies my whole life, things ive picked up from behind the scenes segments, interviews etc. ive worked with a few camcorders. I write stories and Im working on a few ideas for scripts right now. I love to write.

I hope to get a nice high end camera like the Canon XL2 sometime in the future. My question is, if I have a camcorder( even if its an old VHS one ), what are some reasonably priced editing software to get. Im usually broke.

Plus what are some good books, manuals to get for novice filmmakers? Im really interested in the direction,writing,cinematography,art direction and music aspects of film.

I really like this site, and id appreciate any help. ............Thanks

Edited by WES

• 3 weeks later...
I have no experience in filmaking,but i know quite a bit about it just from ive  watching movies my whole life, things ive picked up from behind the scenes segments, interviews etc.  ive worked with a few camcorders. I write stories and Im working on a few ideas for scripts right now. I love to write.

I hope to get a nice high end camera like the Canon XL2 sometime in the future. My question is, if I have a camcorder( even if its an old VHS one ), what are some reasonably priced editing software to get. Im usually broke.

Plus what are some good books, manuals to get for novice filmmakers? Im really interested in the direction,writing,cinematography,art direction and music aspects of film.

I really like this site, and id appreciate any help. ............Thanks

Hi Wes,

Sounds like you don't know what part of film you want to do right now, or what parts, thats cool. I suggest you shoot lots of stuff, anything. Documentry, short subject, Public Service Anouncments. What ever grabs you. Just do it and see where it leads you. Get a camera, shoot, edit, put in music. You will get a feel of where you want to go and if it is for you.