Ultra 16

Guest Pav

Hi

I have used Super 8 for years but I am new to 16mm. I have a Canon Scoopic M. I want to be able to convert it to Super 16, but have been told that although possible it's very difficult and not really worth it.

A friend has told be about an alternative - Ultra 16. Do many people use Ultra 16? Are labs and telecine house familiar with it?

I understand that instead of widening the frame 2mm out to the edge to cover the sound area the frame is widened 1mm both ways so the lens stays centered.

I know the scoopic's lens will cover the extra 1mm at both ends, but if I widen to Super 16 - the 2mm to one side I dont know if there would be vigneting - Does anyone know?

Does this 16 use the same amount of film as Super 16 and has the same resoultion?

I hope someone canen help me.

Pav

I am also very interested In Ultra.. This has to be an Improvement over Super 16mm EVEN taking into account that you end up with 3% Less in frame size (Negligable) Because you dont have to alter lenses Mags or anything other than the Film Gate where you have to take off 0.75 of a mm..You could also have more stability by having film with Sprocket holes both sides..

0.75 Sounds very little! I wonder if anyone knows whether you could go for 2.35:1 By taking off 1.5mm each side This COULD be greatly BENEFICIAL...

• Premium Member

Lots of discussion elsewhere on this forum. Just do a search.

Biggest issue is that it is not a format standardized by the SMPTE, so not everyone is set up to handle the format. You also need to be careful that the image doesn't fall into the areas set aside by the SMPTE standards for edgeprint or transport of the film (most equipment transports the film by touching the areas between the perfs).

"... I know the scoopic's lens will cover the extra 1mm at both ends, ..."

Pav

I'm wondering how it is you KNOW this.