Getting ready to graduate, what next?

Hello All,

I am currently an undergrad majoring in History at Truman State University. I enjoy documentary filmmaking (hense history) and now that I will be out soon, I am looking to focus in on filmmaking. I've gotten a lot of experience with video, super 8 and 16mm with equipement that I have bought, and I've read everything I can get my hands on about film and cinematography. Obviously, the thought of film school comes to mind, but the more and more I read about film school, the more I hear that it is expensive, and when you are done, you are left without a job, and lots of student loans to payback. So, I'm thinking it may be better to use my money to actually make films. But, I still really want to learn the ins and outs of cinematography and editing (my two favs). What do you all recommend? Internships? Workshops? Classes? Should I take the plunge and go to film school? Basically, any suggestions would be inifintely appreciated!

Best,

BR

• Premium Member

Obviously one can learn filmmaking outside of film school -- I did. By the time I went to film school, I had been making my own films for ten years, so technically there wasn't much to learn in school for me other than sound and some post issues regarding sound.

What I got out of film school was connections with people that led to my first jobs out of school. So my advice is IF you can afford a film school, pick one with some sort of connections with the industry you are interested in. However, since you are more interested in documentaries, you may be better off connecting with other documentary filmmakers, maybe interning, than going to school -- although I hear that Stanford has a good documentary department. At least they did in the 1980's when I was looking into schools...

brian, here's my quickie little pile of advice based on my limited experience.