A Director who NEEDS your help and knowledge

Alright guys, I need a LOT of information here.....

I am 19 and i already shot a feature film on video, edited on premiere. Audio was recorded using a portable Tascam DAT recorder, and i synched it to video in post production. I have a lot of experience with digital cameras and video editing, but i have NEVER worked with film before. I am reading a lot of posts and there is so much to learn it is a little overwhelming. From what i gather, 16mm is the way to go and i am looking at around $6000 to spend on film. And that is only for a couple of hours of footage. This is a problem because on my last 90 min feature i shot around 12 hours of footage. I also think there will be a problem synching the film with my DAT recorder. Also, i would like to get the film transferred to video so i can edit it. I guess these are my main concerns:

-After the film is transferred to video, will it look that much different than digital video? in other words is the move to film really worth it?

-I need to find some kind of book or site that gives me basics of working with film and what i need to know. I know a lot about filmmaking, but the technical aspects of film i need to learn soon.

Any one out there have some good advice for me with regard to working with 16mm and if it is worth the money and hassle.

thank you very much,

Korhan

i am looking at around $6000 to spend on film. And that is only for a couple of hours of footage.

Is that six grand for just filmstock or film, processing, and transfer? If the latter, that's not going to work out well for you at all. If just for filmstock, that is still very, very tight. We're talking not even a 4:1 ratio. I've tried shooting very low and unless you are working with the greatest talent in the world and don't have any heavy action choreography, it's not going to work well at all.