non-cinematographer looking for feedback!

Hey!

I'm a writer/director and while I'd love to hire a DP, I can't exactly afford it so I shoot my own movies out of necessity. I've struggled in the past with nice looking shots that don't really drive the story forward. They looked good to me, but didn't tell me anything. For this short I buckled down and started writing down anything relating to character, motivation, atmosphere, themes, etc...So I could make more artistically sound choices that don't threaten to derail the story in the way some of my past work has. I can see an improvement in the work, but would still like to better understand what it is I did right, and what it is I did wrong. It's important to me that the cinematography serve the story as opposed to just being a showcase for "cool shots". I'd also love to know how you folks prepare for a shoot, and what kinds of things you think about as you plan out your shots. Here's the film for reference:

PLEASE watch in 4k. YouTube compression butchered my shadows.

Thanks in advance! ❤️

Hey @Khaled F. Abdullah

I took a look at your film and it actually all depends on what you were trying to portray. 

I've been thinking about these things a lot in the last couple of months and I see a lot of people making really good shots but seldom do they understand the motivation of those shots. 

Or put in a different way, you always have two choices either find someone who can do something better than you and let them do it or invest the time to get better at something.

I think this is at the core of being a filmmaker anyway you look at it. Yes you can never be the best at everything but the truth is that knowing something rarely hurts and often benefits. So having a good grasp on cinematography is great.