Kodak 16 mm edge code assistance

Hello,

I've been collecting 35 mm for several years but have recently starting collecting 16 mm film. I would like to identify the type and manufacturing date of some Kodak film on a reel I just acquired. It's single perforation 16 mm, with sound, and the area above the sprockets has the following every foot or so: "Kodak SP  ◻◻ 70". Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

David

The two box code is probably 1980, assuming it's not 1960 or 1940!

According to this

https://www.paulivester.com/films/filmstock/guide.htm

the SP is for "special process"  print stock. I don't know about the "70"- my 1987 VNF has "75". It may be a specification number referring to a particular pitch length, perforation or packaging.

Edited by Mark Dunn

Thanks for the help -- much appreciated. The boxes are open (not filled in) but I think the 1980 year makes sense.

On a related note, was it common for 16 mm film in the 1960s-1970s  not to have any edge code? I have a couple of reels with film that show no markings.

David

The shapes are often just in outline, yes. In the Keykode era, a pair of letters are used instead of shapes, starting with DE in 1989.

https://www.kodak.com/en/motion/page/keykode-id-table/

I think Kodak would always have been edge numbered- it's indispensable for neg cutting.

However, I do have a spare roll of rushes from 1981 that were misprinted without edge numbers- the roll had to be reprinted as it would have been impossible to match the workprint with the neg. The rebates are clear, so unexposed- are yours clear or black?

Edited by Mark Dunn

• Premium Member
15 hours ago, Mark Dunn said:

the SP is for "special process"  print stock. I don't know about the "70"- my 1987 VNF has "75". It may be a specification number referring to a particular pitch length, perforation or packaging.