Black and White 16mm

Matthew Phillips

Hey Everyone,

This is my first time posting on this site so I apologize if this question has been asked before. With that out of the way...

I am going to be shooting a short film in the next month and the director wanted to shoot Black and white reversal and some color negative film. We are going to project it on 35mm color. I was wondering if I could use a Red 25A filter to get more contrast out of the black and white (still photography trick)? Also I was wondering if they print the black and white to color stock for project will it have a slight blues hue to it? I heard that it may, If so how can I be sure to correct in camera.

Thank for you help

Matt

the director wanted to shoot Black and white reversal and some color negative film. We are going to project it on 35mm color...(snip)...Also I was wondering if they print the black and white to color stock for project will it have a slight blues hue to it?

The problem here is that reversal and negative are of a different polarity.

If you are blowing up from color negative 16mm (I assume you are blowing up), you are going to have to go from the negative, to a 35mm (or sometimes 16mm to save money) interpositive, to a 35mm internegative, to a 35mm positive print. To go from the black and white reversal you will go directly to an internegative and from that onto a print. You need to keep this in mind when planning everything with the lab.

If you need to have an IP of your entire movie, not just an IN (which is really only the case with feature films that need to be delivered as IP's to the distributor), then you need to make an extra step with your black and white images, in other words, make an internegative off the B&W reversal, then from that to an interpositive, and you combine that interpositive with the interpositive generated from the color negative footage you shot to make a master IP. Confused yet? :blink: