Need Camera Advice

Craig Tarry

Hello, I'm a photographer who's getting into DV with the intent of shooting a 15min. short. I'm considering buying the DVX100A - in fact I'm considering buying two - I'd like your opinions of this camera as opposed to other prosumer models, especially in regards to tranferring video to film of theatre viewing.

Thanks for any help. I know this is a new frontier and perhaps there are no easy answers - Craig

• Premium Member

Dear Craig,

I would think about following questions:

1. Do I really need 24fps?

2. Do I understand the costs,$ involved transferring from video to film?

3. Ask about manual focus with DX100,DX100A

I quote from Scott Billups, Digital Moviemaking:

"They saddled it with the horrendous focus ring from hell. It is impossible to get

professional results with a lens that has a focus ring that just keeps turning.

Since there is no quantifiable or repeatable point at which you can actually gen-

erate a true follow focus,any camera with a focus ring that does'nt stop turning

is not suitable for professional production. Period!!!"

I quote Scott Billups.

4. Now it may be that new DX100A has different focus range, I do not know.

I spent a full day with DX100 and I did not like it.

5. Its true that you can add on follow focus,mattebox/shade,filter holder but for

about another $3000.00 to $4000.00. You now have a $6500 to a $7500 cam-

era. Don't forget that films schools and hollywood can afford these changes!

If you can afford it thats fine and you'll have a hollywood lookin camera. You

now could have a Sony high end camera.

6. Check out audio quality(make sure you're happy with it).

• Premium Member

I've owned and operated the larger sony DSR-570 camcorder, worked with both the XL1 and the PD150/170 and I've recently down sized to the DVX100a.

REASON: