Reels and Resumes

Cris Moris

Hello all,

A few questions about putting together a reel.

1. How long should a reel usually be?

2. What kind of editing structure is mostly used/acceptable? i.e: should I take a couple of shots from each film and ad title, format, etc..? Or should it be a vast combination of different shots in no perticular order?

3. What should a DP's resume look like? I have a lot of experience in other non-film related jobs- should I bother with these at all?

4. What's the story with AGENTS?

Thanks.

Well, as with all things a reel can be almost anything. I would keep it on the short side. The longest one I've seen was 15 minutes. 15 minutes of very strong material, which is the main thing to put in a reel. Put your strongest stuff right up front. Also an actual 35mm reel is obviously going to include different things than a DVD reel. The best DVD reel I saw was 10 minutes long and was organized into sections titled; Features, Documentary, Commercials etc. each section played its own music over the visuals and would occasionaly cut to actual production sound when there was some cool dialogue or an explosion or something. It was very effective but it required a lot of good material to pull it off.

My current reel is only 8 minutes long because I had to chop some old stuff that I just don't think works anymore. It has a title card with my information then another that introduces a full length (4 minutes) music video that is very upbeat and happens to show a variety exteriors and interiors (lit with hard light, yes!). That seques into a 2 minute trailer to a documentary film. Then it has another title card that shows a two minute scene from another documentary. It ends with the same title card as the front. On some of the DVD's I include a gallery of my stills work because I come from that background.