New Shooter needs advice going from SD to HD

Steve Uhalde

I'm a new shooter, I've been shooting on Beta for about 5 months. I've been shooting reality style TV shows and I've just about got comfortable shooting on Beta. The company I work for also shoots on HD Cam and they're looking at me as a possible HD shooter in the next couple of weeks. I'm wondering what are the biggest differences that I can expect to see from going from SD to HD? Any mistakes that others have made that I can learn from and possibly avoid? Thanks in advance.

I don't know about you, but I shoot beta like HD. When you focus you zoom in to check for critical focus right? Thats the biggest difference. I know a lot of beta shooters who guess at focus in most situations. For a spot news shot sometimes I do (only in daylight filter 3 when I am close to an f16.....if I am shooting spot I do that anyway to gain the DOF, so I don't loose a sudden shot) but we should all aim for the most precise focus given the situation, regardless of the format.

In general though the DOF is the same, sort of.... DOF is the same since most SD beta are 2/3s as are HD, but criticle focus is neccisary since circle of confusion is less. So basicly just make sure your focus is dead on.

Latitude offers a few more options, since most HD chips are more advanced than their 5-10 year senior Beta counterpart (along with pre-record DSP). but that doesn't necissarily change your way of working if its ENG. you can get away with more, but careful control of staging and angle is needed to take advangage of natural light, as with any ENG shoot (until I can figure out how to move the sun and clouds themselves that is)

Composing for a larger screen you might want to drift towards a wider shots than with SD, but you can't take that too far since you must understand a lot of your HD content will be viewed on SD screens.