Shooting in China

Brian Dzyak

It's looking like I'll be shooting for a few days in Shanghai and/or the surrounding countryside in a couple of months. Likely taking the F900 and a basic ARRI kit, an 800w HMI Joker, plus other AKS.

It's my first time traveling (and also shooting of course) in that part of the world. Apart from the power issue, is there anything else that I should "worry" about or something out of the ordinary to be prepared for?

Thank you!

Hello Brian,

Never turn your back on your gear especially on trains and watch out for pickpockets.

Also trains have 1 fare for locals and another for "foreigners" at the discretion of the ticket agent.

Only bottled water - including teeth brushing.

Bring spare bulbs from home as some things can be hard to source.

They eat some strange things sometimes (dog, snake, etc.) Let your production people advise you!

Have fun!

• Premium Member

Dan,

I leave for Hong Kong and Thailand in a week. I'm curious if the bottled water situation is the same in those places as it is in mainland China? I've been reading up as much as I can about what I need to know but haven't seen mention of this. Also, I'm going to bring two still cameras (F1's) and an assortment of lenses. I'm curious whether I'll have any travel delays because of this and also if I should bring film or buy it there? Any idea if they are willing to do hand inspection on still film in those places? Also, I think I'm going to need to buy a phone while I'm there (don't think mine will work). Any ideas?

Sorry to hijack the thread. Hopefully any info will be helpful to Brian as well.

As far as water is concerned Hong Kong is alright. I don't know about Thailand. If you can photocopy receipts for the cameras and lenses and have them with you that should be OK. Buying film is fine.

What is your worry about buying a phone?

Hand inspection of film is pretty much a coin toss in terms of which customs officer you come across but that's true anywhere.