16 mm class 101

Tom Hepburn

Hello All,

This is my first post. A little background: I've shot some super 8 film on numerous occasions in school, but I would consider myself a beginner here.

I've just purchased a Kodak Cini K-100 Turret 16mm camera (see pict). I just had the lenses tested and cleaned by someone who came highly recommended here in town. Those of you who are familiar with this camera:

How does this relate to the 16mm and Super 16mm discussions here? I'm assuming this camera is a regular 16mm camera as it was built somewhere around 1960. If it is a regular 16, should I consider modifying it (if possible) to a super 16? If I do, how will that change the processing and scanning, if at all?

I'm shooting as a hobby for myself and will have it developed and scanned in (to a DV tape, so it will be interlaced) and edited on a computer.

Any other information that applies would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

T

post-30468-1196700890.jpg

• Premium Member

Congratulations, you picked up a great camera.

It is a single perf camera, so widening the gate for Super 16 should be possible but I don't know if the lenses would cover the full area or not. It's not somethinig you need to do right away, get used to it as a straight up 16mm first.

As far as buying film, order direct from Kodak for best prices & shipping costs. 1-800-621-FILM (3456)

Processing: There are plent of labs around the country that process 16mm. In Dallas I use The Lab @ Video Post & Transfer. I use AlphaCine in Seattle for 16mm & Super 8.

Transfer: This is where it starts to get expensive. There are some sponsors of this site that do a great job at a reasonable price. Cinelab stands well in the price/quality area and they process film as well.

I have a K-100 turret as well and here are my comments:

It runs longer than any other camera on one wind and it's pretty easy to wind... very good thing.

Build like a TANK.

Lenses can actually look pretty good.