First time student seeks film stock advice!

Ron Flex

Hi, so I am currently at University doing a film course and have decided to start making my own 16mm short for hopefully, festival showings.

So I am in the middle of my screenplay and I have purchased a CP16 that has had an overhaul by Whitehouse Visual. Also I saw a great deal on the internet where I got 3 sealed 400ft rolls of Kodak Vision 2 250d for around 30 pounds a roll, I think half a year old and kept in a fridge.

So I have some nice stock for the outdoors scenes but I am starting to write in some indoor scenes and also a few nightime scenes. I am a complete newbie regarding this type of stuff and I am not sure what stock I would use for these scenes?

Would 250d be ok for general averge lit indoor scenes? There will be no extra lights brought in so it will all be standard house lighting. The night scene looks to be hard as well. The quality has to be good as the the characters facial expressions are key due to a lack of dialogue. I cannot see any film that os recommended for low light shoots expect stocks ending with t, which I believe is tungsten balanced for use with studio lights. Which I will not be using.

Any advice for a guy? Also I have the 3 tins of 250d coming tomorrow, is it better to store in the fridge or freezer?

Thanks,

• Premium Member

Keep it in the fridge for short term and let it thaw before you shoot it

While you can shoot 250D inside, and it's a good speed stock as well, you'll have to correct it for tungsten which'll eat up lght. It's best perhaps to get some 200T/500T for your inside/night stuff.

Also, I feel 250D is too fast for bright direct sunlight (works great in overcast areas/forests etc. but I recall from my own shooting it; that often sunlight would up towards F45/F32 with it.. and thats, obviously, a bit more than most can deal with (w/o a lot of ND and stopping down).

That being said, the 250D is a nice stock, and hell, it's film, so it's already high quality.