Why are Criterion Collection DVDs so expensive??

• Premium Member

I was at Bestbuy the other day looking to get "7 Samurai" and I found a "Criterion Collection" copy of it, but it's $40!

Anyone know why it's so expensive? All the other Criterion Collection DVDs were expensive, too.

I'm a poor student, $40 for one movie is a lot, especially when I can save for a while longer and get the Kurosawa collection (4 movies, I believe) for $80.

7 Samurai

It's only $30 on Amazon...and it's free shipping, too. You can even get it on the used section for $11.99.

Criterion DVDs usually come with the best extras, and have the most meticulous DVD remasters on the market. When Criterion puts out a DVD you can be sure painstaking work has been put to make it the absolute best viewing experience possible...short of a print, of course. Personally, I love Criterion, especially since they've decided to release all the Bresson films. It's about time! :)

• Premium Member
7 Samurai

It's only $30 on Amazon...and it's free shipping, too.  You can even get it on the used section for $11.99. 

Criterion DVDs usually come with the best extras, and have the most meticulous DVD remasters on the market.  When Criterion puts out a DVD you can be sure painstaking work has been put to make it the absolute best viewing experience possible...short of a print, of course.  Personally, I love Criterion, especially since they've decided to release all the Bresson films.  It's about time!  :)

Do they find the better existing prints and clean them up and stuff like that, I guess? It's the only way I've found some films so I'll pay it, I was just curious as to why. If there's good reason they're more expensive and they're worth it, then fine. I'm kind of a sucker for good looking movies.:P :D

Edited by Mr. Bunnies

• Premium Member