Teaching camera operation

Sara Stroud

Hi folks,

My background is in painting and drawing, I have worked on my own short films and commissioned work. I also teach TV production in Scotland.

We train students to use the Sony XD PW750. I teach the students how to use all the functions in manual and use various shooting exercises to get them to put it in to practice.

As my background is fine art I struggle with explaining the more technical aspects of camera operation including the physics of lenses.

Would anyone have any tips on how to teach this practically and also other tips for helping train new camera operators.

How did you learn or get taught when you were a student?

Thanks Sara

I don't know what level you're teaching at, but the best way is usually to break it down into bits. Something to bear in mind is that your students will have different ways in how they like to learn, so a mix of the theory (using talk, handouts and visuals) and then applying it in practise, hands on, tends to catch most students. That's pretty much how the BBC ran their training courses.

• Premium Member

If you get a magnifying glass, you can usually project an image of a brightly-illuminated object or window onto a piece of paper, which I find is quite a nice trick to demonstrate how it all works (there are of course hilarious stories of people doing this in order to guide oil painting, which you'll probably be aware of).

On the odd occasion I've been asked to run classes, I've tried to cover shooting stuff that's actually editable in terms of coverage and camera angles.

P

If you get a magnifying glass, you can usually project an image of a brightly-illuminated object or window onto a piece of paper, which I find is quite a nice trick to demonstrate how it all works (there are of course hilarious stories of people doing this in order to guide oil painting, which you'll probably be aware of).