What are your suggestions ?

Dominik Muench

Hi,

i have following task to fullfill, shooting 100 feet of kodak black and white reversal film as creatively as possible, i can do any special processing i want.

equipment wise i do have a arri sr2 super 16mm with a set of zeiss primes. lights are basically tungstens, a couple of redheads, blondies and lowell dp lights.

i would like to do something really unusual processing wise, however im not very experienced with special processing techniques. does anyone have any suggestions ?

thanks.

• Premium Member

There's not many unusual things you can do with b&w since there isn't color to make into weirder colors, or more pastel colors, or more intense colors using processing tricks.

With b&w, you can do things that will increase the graininess and contrast, that's about it. There are fewer ways of making the image look "wrong" since color is not a factor.

Otherwise, you can use diffusion filters, color-contrast filters, etc. You can also print it onto color stock with a tint, or color tint it in a video transfer.

For example, I've used push-processing, a heavy fog filter and heavy red filter outdoors for a fake infrared film look.

• Premium Member

Well, an infrared filter is sort of a really, really, really heavy red filter, but since you aren't shooting real infrared film, you wouldn't get much exposure if you used a real infrared filter. There is a semi infrared b&w negative that Ilford makes but I think they got out of the motion picture business. Of course, Kodak makes real infrared b&w film.

Using regular film, push-processed for more grain & contrast, plus a red filter to increase contrast outdoors and darken the sky, plus a heavy fog (or ProMist) filter to increase halation and softness, will give you a fake infrared look but of course, you won't get glowing green plants, etc. like with real infrared photography.

• Premium Member
Hi,