what technique for a dance video?

• Premium Member

There really need to be some kinds of limits placed on the democratization of film-making, simply for quality control purposes. In my opinion, an iPhone should not be used as any kind of recording medium. You should at least be using some kind of DSLR.

What kind of video will this be? What kind of look do you want? Do you have access to lights?...

• Upvote 1

• 1 year later...

I'm a complete beginner in filming and all that goes with it.

But at university I had a course of cinematography and filming that I loved and ever since I can remember I wanted to make movies.

Well I became a semi-professional dancer in the last 10 years and when I was in a dance video I remembered how much I wanted to be in film businesses so with my girlfriend we decide to film a dance video of us to learn everything we could about the production process.

So we did everything and got a nice dance video out of it and because of the video we got to make 8 more for various other dancers we knew and I must say I learned a lot.

Anyway my advice to you is don't use an iphone or any kind of small camera but use a DSLR at least because you can do much more with it (unfortunately you're still limited in some areas) but the image will be much better. Make a shot plan in advance before filming and decide what exactly you're going to shoot before getting to your locations. I even went and scouted the locations in advance and decided what and how I'd do everything. Figure out what to do with lighting and or use onsite lighting decide how to use it and do it constantly because otherwise you shots won't match with each other.

Also don't forget to prepare your audio in advance. What I did was I added some beeps to the beginning and end of the audio for the video that I used when filming on locations and it made aligning for editing much easier (even though software can align audio well this was much more reliable).