faster fps with slower shutter - REDMAG & REDCODE predicament

Gosia Zur

Hi all,

I'm new here and this is my first post so please be gentle. I'm only learning and shooting a short very soon. I managed to secure RED one MX for this project. My base (project) frame rate is 24fps and shooting majority on 24fps.

But there is this one dream sequence I want to shoot differently. I wanted to go slightly slow motion so on higher frame rate (maybe 48, don't wanna go too slow) and wanted to enhance motion blur by slowing down the shutter.

So my original shutter for all the 24fps stuff would be 1/48. Here's my question so... If I go up to 48fps should I leave the shutter at 1/48 or maybe even go down to 1/24 for a more dreamy look? Will it all work fine in the post? I'm assuming it should as I'm sticking to one fps/shutter/base frame rate scenario.

Don't know who the editor is for this project just yet so can't pick his/her brain about this and also don't want to shoot myself in the foot by choosing wrong settings and I just end up making absolute balls out of this shot.

All these questions come from the fact that we have a REDMAG module instead of the flash one so it seems like if I wanted to stick to 48fps I'd have to resort to very obscure ratio/resolution format. I wanted to shoot this short in 4.5K widescreen with REDCODE 36. When I inspect the Operation Guide it seems like there's no 48fps option there at all although the cinematographer friend of mine says it is possible at 3K 2:1. Is that true? Can the Operation Guide be wrong? That DP friend of mine says the OG is quite old and probably haven't been updated. Seems like there is such option in REDCODE 42 but that same DP says he wouldn't trust 42 cos it's not reliable enough. I trust his judgement completely. Any of you know what the story is?