Music Videos - The Industry

I am almost positive this topic has been answered by some of you veterans before, but I can't seem to find much information on work in the music video industry. I was just curious where the best places to look for work would be (i.e. location, prod. companies). Also, how loose is the industry as far as positions are concerned. Do specialized people often bounce between feature work, television and music videos? In a more concise question, what are the best ways to get started working on music videos post film school. If the best means be obtaining PA work, say so. Any past experience or tales will help. Thanks.

Mike R.

• Premium Member

Hi,

I'm a student and know very little about the industry. I did meet a music video director at a festival once. I think he and his crew were making the rounds and handing out business cards and making contacts. He was (imho) not a very good director, all 40 of the videos he had made since his graduation from Duke University three years prior didn't seem inventive or well executed, from a storytelling perspective, but he had a superb crew that made his videos look like a million bucks.

So, I guess the answer is graduate from a first class private university and head over to L.A. when you're finished. Be a go-getter and make sure to have a top shelf crew to support you. If wanting to work on crew, then maybe just be "in the know" with folks in the area who make film/video projects and get involved with them... maybe they'll have a music video project come up and you'll be the person they turn to. I've worked on two hi-def music videos shot on the Varicam up in Indianapolis where I used to live and all because of just knowing the people who were making the videos. They weren't cash cows, but they were fun ways to get my feet wet. Hope this helps.

Good luck!

Brian

Student

What do you want to do in the music videos industry?

Do you want to be a grip? Or an AD? Or perhaps a cinematographer?