When to use Footcandle readings

Eric Soto

Hey everyone, I am still learning how effectively to use my light meter. The conclusion I've come to, not that it is correct which is why I am asking, is that I use my light meter to measure the differences in F stops of light sources. When scouting a location to get readings of practical lights I use fc readings, to see what extra lights I will need to bring. I understand the mentality of " it doesn't matter how you use the tool, as long as you get what you want from it" but I would just like to know how you guys with more experience use your light meter, specifically when it comes to metering light in FC.

Thank You.

• Premium Member

I don't use them on video at all, but back in the film days it could be useful to get a FC reading because it's something you can easily communicate to a gaffer. "That bulb is 100fc's, the others are 40fc, and I need them all to be the same". That's easily measurable and understandable. It gets slippery when you have to give them an ISO and an F-stop for them to match instead...

With video I suspect FC readings are probably more useful on larger lighting rigs, with more lights and possibly where sets are spread across a number of rooms, allowing the gaffer to rig the lighting on their own. TV studio lighting people would do the same, leaving the fine adjustments until they have pictures.. .

• Premium Member

Doesn't matter whether you use footcandles or f-stops but with f-stops you have to know the ISO, frame rate / shutter time and you would tell your gaffer all of that for their meter... but these days that's not hard if you tell that person that you want to get an f/2.8 key at 500 ISO at 24 fps with a standard 180 shuttter angle. Same goes for fill. I don't work in footcandles other than when looking up photometric data.