sony f55 vs canon c300 mark ii

david jenewein

hey all, i am quite new to the game, and i am about to buy my first camera setup.

therefore i am considering to buy either a used sony f55 or a canon c300 mark ii, as of their afforadability right now and quality they deliver.

in the last weeks i've read lots about these two cameras and others, and still not really sure which one to go for!?

i've read in other posts that decisions which camera to go for is often determined by the productions you mainly work for.

in my case thats not really the case, as there are no real requirements from my clients side regarding this.

what i would like to be able to do with this camera is having a decent camera for local productions, but also and mainly, a camera i can travel with and shoot documentary content handheld as a single operator.

so factors which are important for me and which would influence my decision which camera to go for are:

- skin tones resp colour science of the sensor, resp general quality of the sensor and dynamic range and low light capabilities

- internal recording quality/codecs (as i primarily will shoot without an external recorder)

- general power consumption (i know that probably depends lots on which codec one shoots, but would be just interested how many v-lock batteries one would recommend for travelling)

- ergonomics (i've shot with the c300 mark ii shoulder mounted once and wasn't too happy, but also think i didn't necesarily balance it well)

i am sure there are other factors to consider which i am probably not aware of.

i would be more then happy if i could get some advice resp recommendations on which camera to go for.

many thanks

david