Help : Super 8 Starter Set

REGARDS ALL

Much respect to all those esteemed and knowledgable individuals here who take the time to address the at time obvious questons of new enthusiasts such as myself.

I am a student in Design and have no formal knowledge of Film;

I would like to press to you this question of how i might be able

to purchase a 8mm set up that would allow me to record

images remeniscent of VIETNAM era frontline footage;

something with a 60's 70's journalistic quality.

EBAY has an infinite amount of makes and models,

i've scoured the net, read a good FAQ on 8mmshooting.com

and have asked some flim students what they reccomend.

I simply want a solid camera, Mulitple FPS, Single Frame, possibly SOUND

that would allow me to easily jump in and FILM...

what might you reccomend . in the area of 100 - 200 dollars ? ? ?

Braun Nizo

Cannon

Nikon

Beaulieu

Belle Howell

again if anyone knows of a resource that describes the AESTHETIC QUALITY

of CERTAIN ERA's film quality please let me know.

I'm extremely interested in recording images

in a way that looks distinctly VINTAGE

IS OLD GEAR THE BEST WAY TO DO THAT????

many thanks in advance

aerosyn-lex mestrovic

HOLLA

• Premium Member

Hi,

I'd forget about sound. The only super-8 cameras that recorded sound required a stock which is no longer made, with a magnetic stripe on the side of it. There are workarounds to it, but it really isn't worth it. People sometimes velcro small minidisc recorders to the side of cameras, but that's about it.

Most Vietnam-era newsgathering would have been 16mm, anyway.

Phil

• Premium Member

Even if you shoot with the newest Vision-2 stock, the Super-8 format instantly gives it a "vintage" look -- it's hard NOT to get that look with Super-8, not really being a modern format. But color reversal adds even more to the vintage look, also not being used much these days.