cameras and extreme temperature

Kevin Olmsted

I was going to post in Paul Ash's Leicina thread but didn't want to stray off topic too far...

Jim Carlile mentioned one should never shoot an older and/or non-rebuilt camera in cold conditions. Having lived most of my life in the Southwest US, I've never thought about it much. I am a technically proficient engineer so disassembling and cleaning my cameras has never daunted me, but lubrication is just now becoming a concern as my cameras get older.

I now live in Louisville, KY, US and a few months ago I shot some film in 19 degree weather. The film came out fine but my camera did sound a bit different when running. After shooting I took it inside and after it warmed up it sounded fine again.

What are the optimum temperatures for running the average well-taken-care-of 30-year-old camera? Is lubrication something one can do themselves? Are there newer formulas (is that the right term?) of lubricants that are good for old cameras, meaning they won't damage the camera in any way?

Thanks for any help...

Kevin

• Premium Member

Kevin,

your experiences with the camera sounding a bit different, less effortless, more hard-working, maybe more steely and less smoothly is completely normal when shooting under such weather conditions.

This happens not only to non-CLA'd camera gear, but even to newly-lub'd "out-of-the-workshop" cameras, even actually new out of the cameras like an Xtéra or a Bolex 16 Pro which is famously "lubricated forever" (no joke :) !) in all cine-film formats, be it S8 or S35.