BlackMagic Design Production Camera 4K

Doğa Zeren

Hello, as everyone knows BM offers great quality with low prices. But still it brings it's own problems. Especially with the post pro and processing the media. Now considering that i'm just a film student right now i'm a bit scared to invest such money on a camera like this with the lack of professional post pro support. What alternatives do i have? What is your opinions. Thanks everyone.

• Premium Member

you can always consider shooting prores with the camera, it helps the post prod a lot.

if your budget is about 10k max then maybe sony fs7 would be good option, or cion/ursa .

if you can base your post around Davinci Resolve it may help a lot if shooting raw with the blackmagic cameras.

I think that the basic file naming system of the blackmagic cameras is just plain stupid for large projects (long prefixes listing the full camera name and containing lots of spaces which may complicate backup systems, adding the random numbers and date before clip number, etc.)

Hello, as everyone knows BM offers great quality with low prices. But still it brings it's own problems. Especially with the post pro and processing the media. Now considering that i'm just a film student right now i'm a bit scared to invest such money on a camera like this with the lack of professional post pro support. What alternatives do i have? What is your opinions. Thanks everyone.

What would be some of the 'post pro and processing' problems. While shooting 'raw', perhaps one has to perform conversion to a more convenient media type, one can shoot ProRes, and that feeds right into most NLEs and other tools.

Re: Long clip file names with spaces... one can change that default and either put in text that is more appropriate for a given project... like the film name, and one can use '_' characters to make separated text, but not use a 'space' character.