Lighting HDV

Hi, I was recently put in charge of planning a independent/low budget music video. We plan on renting 3 Sony HVRZ1U HDV Camera's. This music video should have scenes shot both indoor and outdoor. (bassically a car driving slowly and club scenes... Hip Hop Style Video with some green screen shooting also - i'll need to know how to light that also) I'm completely new to the whole lighting scene. Can anyone guide me on what type of lighting (equipment) i will need to get adequite footage? Are there any self-sufficient kits I can rent? I understand this is a huge topic.. so can anyone point me to any internet resources if this question is unanswerable. I have been searching but it seems that most sites require a million dollar budget.

• Premium Member

Hi,

Lighting HDV is (fairly obviously, I'd have thought) exactly the same as lighting any other kind of video, and very much the same as lighting film. Go read books, and prepare to suck the first n times, where n is an integer between 10 and 50.

Phil

i'd thought i read somewhere that hdv is more sensitive to light. Can you point me to a site where i can learn about good lighting books (something aimed fairly at the novice but covers in dept information).

I have been searching but it seems that most sites require a million dollar budget.

I don't understand what that means.

Eitherways lighting is lighting

And it's a discipline that's not so much related to capture formats.

And eitherways lighting for video is the same for HD, MiniDV, Digibeta

& even HDV which is basically trumped up MiniDV.

Anyways it takes skill and time to learn how to properly light.

I recommend you read all the books on lighting you can afford

Read many websites...particularly those that deal with your project...

And be realistic about your abilities.

From your post it seems you have very little lighting experience...

I recommend instead of renting three Z1u you should rent two Z1u...