Cinemax Macro C-802 Super-8 - Mercury battery

Mario Hatzopoulos

Hello everyone,

this is my first time on one of these Forums. But I recently bought a Cinemax Macro C-802 Super-8 and I've noticed I need a special battery for the light meter. Its a mercury battery and fortunately I still have the original piece that was in the camera when I bought it. Here's what it says on the battery:

• Brand: National Mallory
  • Branding: H-3 D 3.9V (This is not a Button cell. This battery is about 2cm in height and about 1.5 cm in diameter)

My question is. Do these sort of batteries still exist? Or at least a format of them so I can use my light meter again?

Thank you for your answers in advance! :D

• Premium Member

There are a fair number of replacements out there for the ubiquitous PX-13/PX-625 1.35V mercury battery used in about every SLR from that era, and I've seen them as meter batteries in some home movie cameras too.  It's weird that your bigger battery isn't an exact multiple of 1.35V because that was the "natural" output voltage of that cell type.

The big question is whether the meter depends on that exact voltage, or whether there's a voltage regulator built in, so it could actually tolerate a slightly higher voltage and still be accurate.  (That's the issue with putting same-size alkaline replacements in old SLRs - then your meter is miscalibrated.)  If you can answer that, it will guide your path a bit on what to do next.  ("Use a handheld meter" is one possible answer, sadly!)

A little googling doesn't tell me anything useful about that battery spec.

Duncan

Mercury batteries were popular in the 60's and 70's for photographic gear because they had a flat discharge curve and a long shelf life.

So, basically, they provided a consistent voltage for a long time in intermittent use, and that's a good match for the demands of photo equipment.