nighttime with slow speed stocks

Deniz Zagra

I've started noticing how clean, sharp, and properly color-balanced night shots in older movies look. Maybe it's because I'm an amateur, and don't know how to expose properly, but I'm curious how they were able to get such clean shots. A few movies that come to mind are Someone To Watch Over Me (1987) and William Friedkin's Cruising (1980). I suspect that street lighting was helpful on Cruising, but to shoot all of that on 5247 (maybe they pushed it a stop as Friedkin usually did) just doesn't seem plausible. The opening shot of Someone To Watch Over Me was probably shot on high speed stock (250T, 400T maybe?) but still the grain level and sharpness hold up extremely well. The only logical way I can think of is maybe, these types of scenes were shot with low speed stocks since everything is almost black during the night, and then the film was exposed for the highlights. Is this how they did it, or am I missing something? What do you think the selected aperture, shutter speed would be for such scenes?

Additionally, I was surprised how the ugly green tint from fluorescent and mercury lightning wasn't present in these shots. Did they use to correct the tint in the lab with a magenta filter (I'm not sure since the filter would also add magenta to the shadows as well, right?) If not, is there way to replicate this without requiring post-processing?

• Premium Member

You could get fine-grained results on 80s high speed stock at night as long as you didn't underexpose them too much.

And 5247 with a one-stop push wasn't that grainy. Again, it's all about the degree of underexposure.  If you ended up printing your footage in the 30s, it was going to look finer-grained than if it printed in the teens.  But you need more light if you are going to be able to expose enough to print night work above the teens in the scale.

So these night scenes usually used fast lenses and additional lighting.