extreme colors, high contrast

Hi everyone,

Does anyone know what stock + processing method to choose if you want your colors to be very vibrant (almost to an extreme) with a high contrast.

I'm thinking of films like 'Amelie' or 'An Angel at my table'.

My location has grass fields with a stone road running through, surrounded by white cottages. The art direction/clothing will be very colorful (at least for my main character).

I will be shooting mainly outdoors, on 16mm.

If anyone has any ideas or comments...pls feel free!

L. x

• Premium Member

Hi,

Reversal is high saturation. Cross-processed reversal is contrasty and high saturation, even with odd bent colours. Avoid modern V2 stocks as they are low-con and will look less saturated even if they aren't.

Someone please confirm this, I'm not really an expert!

Phil

Hi;

In my experience the most saturated and contrasty neg stock is Kodak 7245 (50D) combined with a decent polarizer it's seriously rich stuff, it also has very little grain indeed. Phil is totally right about reversal usually having hi sat too 7285 is designed to look very very saturated but with reversal you have little movement with exposure so for safety i'd say 7245, nothing is better for punchy outdoors work if thats the kinda look you want.

By the way is this for telecine or print?

Olly

• Premium Member

Yes, I amazed at the number of people asking this type of question who never think to tell you whether the project is for telecine-only or will be printed from the negative. Makes a HUGE difference; you can make almost any stock look hi-con and saturated using digital color-correction tools.

Edited by David Mullen

• Premium Member

I agree, 7245 with a polarizing filter should really sparkle on a sunny day. Slight overexposure will give a bit more color saturation, but will still look natural. If you need more speed, give the new Kodak VISION2 250D Color Negative Film 7205 a try.

Hi everyone,

thank you for the many replies!