70's film look

David Owen James

I'm new to 16mm and looking to buy a camera, some lenses and other necessary equipment. I'm looking to achieve the look of film that was popular in the early 70's. i've been going on youtube and checking out the different 16mm cameras and film stock used in the production, but I don't know how useful this is given the many variables that go into the look. I imagine vintage camera and lenses is a necessity. does anyone know much about this?

thank you,

david

• Premium Member

I'd say it's not necessary in the least, especially not for 16mm, but "vintage," can mean so many things. I would go good on the camera, something solid yet cheap, like an ACL, LTR, or SR1 or 2. If it's S16mm already, great, if not, all of those can be converted to S16mm (assuming you want a 1.85:1 ratio, else you'd want normal 16mm for 1.33:1).

Now, onto Lenses. This will be your biggest expense. Just because a lens is older doesn't mean it'll automatically be "vintage," looking. A lot of that look is not from the camera or the lens, but from the film stock and the production design. This being the case, I would go for the best lenses I could get because I could always "funk" them up later on with filters.

On the film stock front, you're in a quandry. Aside from Reversal, and Black and White, every stock out there now is from the late 90s and today. I'm not 100% on how old F64, Rela 500D, and Eterna 400 are, but they predate, I think, the oldest available Kodak 16mm color neg stock, the 50D. But this isn't necessarily bad. These stocks are tremendous today. They have a lot of room to lay down your exposure and are, in truth, hard to screw up too badly on. So you'll be wanting to build your look with Filters and Production design.