Telecine Tips

Damien Bhatti

• Premium Member

I am about to have some telecine done, hopefully at the Mill in London, I have been talking to them a little and they seem most accommodating. However they can offer me a scan to hard disk at 2K to create a 10bit RGB LOG scan. Now the program I am using is Avid Liquid, but as I have learnt Liquid is only a 8 bit program and would not be able to handle resolution at 2k. What kind of external hard drive would be useful at such a range? I was thinking of investing in a G tech drive, but someone advised me that I would need something more substantial at these kinds of levels.

As I am still learning about these things, do you think that it would make sense to simply telecine the footage out to digi beta/ dvcam and take it from there?

Would I be right in assuming that a quality scan could still hold its own against a one light transfer even on a lesser format, say Mini DV?

The work flow I am imagining is a good telecine transfer onto digi beta (for posterity) and dvcam - onto Liquid, and if the project warrants it for festivals back out to digi beta. Would this be viable?

I simply cant afford to take it from digi beta to another post house to get it transferred back to me to edit.

Thanks

I am about to have some telecine done, hopefully at the Mill in London, I have been talking to them a little and they seem most accommodating. However they can offer me a scan to hard disk at 2K to create a 10bit RGB LOG scan. Now the program I am using is Avid Liquid, but as I have learnt Liquid is only a 8 bit program and would not be able to handle resolution at 2k. What kind of external hard drive would be useful at such a range? I was thinking of investing in a G tech drive, but someone advised me that I would need something more substantial at these kinds of levels.

As I am still learning about these things, do you think that it would make sense to simply telecine the footage out to digi beta/ dvcam and take it from there?