Buying an Aaton LTR 7 Super16

Tomas Koolhaas

Hello,

I have never used an Aaton LTR 7 super16 before but have found one for sale for $4,500.

This seems like a good price to me, the camera comes with 2mags, and 2 batteries, no video tap, matt box or any other accesories, it also comes with no lense.

A do you think this is a decent deal and B has anyone used/owned this camera and is there anything to be aware of (the mags with the camera are the super16 type, I know that the standard 16 type mags cause scratches when shooting super16).

Any input would be much appreciated,

Cheers.

Tomas.

www.fnvfilms.com

• Premium Member

There are a few things you should do and know when buying an LTR.

Firstly and most importantly get the serial number and then give me a call. If it has lived in the US then it has probably been through my shop. I can look at it's service history and tell you if it has ever been dropped or abused etc... I can also tell you the last time it got serviced and give you a rough idea what you will need to do to it to get it ship shape.

The factory paradigm for all Aaton cameras is: 'Get your camera overhauled every four years, regardless of use.' Not everyone does this, however, and many a camera's mechanism have suffered premature aging. The reason for the 4-year interval is this: the Aaton uses sinterd (pourus) aluminum bearings. Essentially a fine aluminum powder is pressure-fitted into the shape of a bearing and it has many miniscule holes in it, like a sponge. When we overhaul the camera we put those bearings in a vacuum with oil. The bearings get packed like a sponge with oil. This is a much better solution than simply using pits or wells that externally lubricate the bearings. The problem is that over four years or 2000 rolls the oil will slowly leave the bearing.