Bolex REX 4/5 16mm - Light Leaks

Daniel Meier

I've aquired this camera about two years ago. Shot two rolls of 100ft and everything looked fine.
Last fall I started shooting my 3rd roll of film. This time I went for 500T stock.
When I got it back from the lab and scanning, it had these really nasty light leaks. (Starting at 0:53 in the YT link)

https://youtu.be/3_QMzjQ5GLs

I shot the first third of the roll in Paris. Then went back to my home (Germany) and that first shot I took there had this light leak thing going on.
I took it some days after I came back from Paris.

Now I am wondering about the cause and the root of the issues. Did the camera got damaged during transportation?
Is it just a regular light leak happening because the camera wasn't sealed good enough?
Did any of you experience similar effects? 
And what about those 10 frames of white happening every 5 frames after a new shot.

I didn't change anything on the camera, except for lenses. Always kept the slide filter in with some 85B filter. To balance the 500T for daylight.

The only other thing that changed is how I store the camera, when not shooting with it (but film still being loaded in it)
The shelf where the camera sits now has a decent amount of top-light (LED). 
But I also made sure that there is no light coming in from the top compartment of the camera, where a 400ft mag could be installed.

I spent about 210€ for developing and scanning only.
Can't afford this to happen again ?

Would be very pleased to hear your experiences.

Edited by Daniel Meier
providing additional information

• Daniel Meier changed the title to Bolex REX 4/5 16mm - Light Leaks
  • Premium Member

The leak seems to be coming from the lid side, could the lid have been damaged, or not properly closed? I’d be looking where the lid seats near the gate or just above it. Check that the lid secures ok with the three clamps that extend when you lock the latch. Also check there are no holes from missing screws.