Best Super 8 processor/scanner

Geoffrey Chandler

I'm new to small cinema (at least if you don't count my shooting experience at 12 yrs old with my S8 Bolex) and I'm wondering were can I go to get the highest quality, best looking 1080 HD images?

Pro8 seems to be a solid, one stop shop and I've even called them with questions a couple times, and had very positive conversations both times. However I've also been pricing and reading about some other places like Cinelicious (they have a pretty high minimum order) and Cinelab (good prices).

Is there a particular lab using a particular scanner or scan technique that is clearly superior? I'm very interested in having the best product possible.

Thank you.

Edited by Geoffrey Chandler

Cheaper is http://www.videofilmsolutions.com/film-scanning

It's not listed but it's $0.40/ft for HD from them.

I'm supposed to get some scans back from Gamma Ray = Student Discount $.50/ft

I've heard good things about Cinelicious but their mins and prices are high. I get my processing done at Cinelab but probably won't ever get my telecine done there again.

Edited by Joel Rakowski

Please Explain? I was considering going with them for my feature, and Robert posts here, so please inform us of what went wrong.

It's not that they are bad, just VFS and (hopefully) Gamma Ray are a better quality for about the same (or lesser) price. They also have transfer costs that neither of the previous do, so for small runs it adds a chunk. Honestly I haven't tried their 2K scans but I've gotten things back from them and sent elsewhere and was much happier with the image. I still love Cinelab for processing but their turnaround compared to VFS (3 days) & GR (1 day) is always a variable.

This is just personal experience, poster asked for the highest quality so I told the truth from my perspective.

TLDR - Cinelab isn't bad, they just aren't the best