Diffusion

Hello,

So I am relatively new to lighting. I am a student cinematographer.

I would like to know anything and everything related to diffusion.

What materials give what kind of results ? [youtube links should be fine here]

What fixtures give what kind of results ?

How does size of diffusing material affect the image ?

How does distance between light , material and subject affect the image ?

How does size of light source affect the image ?

What should we look out for while using diffusion ?

Is the kind of light given by a kino already diffused ? Or is there a difference between "soft light" and diffusion ?[stupid question but please help]

The history of diffusion - When did diffusion start in the history of cinema ? etc etc

How does diffusion look when combined with bounce ? [bounce a light and then diffuse it ] ?

Anything else you would like to share or any other online material that is worth a read :)

Thank You,

Vivek, this a real names forum. Please contact the forum administrator to have your screen name changed to your real first and last name.

Secondly, most of your questions have been answered many times. Please use the search function to find old threads on these subjects.

• Premium Member

It would take a very long magazine article or a large chapter in a book to answer all of those questions -- a posted reply in a forum would be inadequate. One question alone in your list could take several replies!

Since these are basic questions, you should first do some searching on your own and then come back with a few more specific questions when you find something you read confusing.

As for YouTube links to demos using diffusion gels for lighting, we could do some searching under various terms to find some links, but you could do the same searches on your own.

Your post comes off as someone who has a classroom assignment to write and wants help in writing it.