Stop wasting time & first feature film

Mendes Nabil

Hello all, i'm a French filmmaker from Paris and i've recently won a VOTD Award for the Chapter 0 of my short film : "God wears hoodies".

I am the "Writer - Director - Cinematographer - Editor - Colorist - Producer" of it.
Here is my website where you can find my 35mm stills work:
www.nabilmendes.com
And here is the film:
It's a 4mn moody piece that introduces the lead male character of my upcoming short, BUT..
My plan was :
-To make that first piece and get noticed (which is kind of the case)
-being signed by a production company like Somesuch, Iconoclast or Caviar and make money by directing music videos and commercials
-Inject the money into the production of my short film
-Convince producers with that short film and shoot my feature with a decent budget.
I'm stuck in the second stage, i have received the congratulations
of big league companies From the US and UK (no French companies answered me), but i still have no job.
So instead of wasting my time following a fancy plan i've decided to directly shoot my feature film (it has to be shot on Super 16mm), my question is:
Should i go wild in the scenario process and write the film i truly want? It will requires money and i'll have to hustle for financiers and producers..
Or should i restrain myself and write a humble piece that i can self produce ? Which will be really frustrating and unhealthy, as a street-workout athlete and someone who strives for greatness and balance it's not acceptable, my ambitions are destructive enough.
I'm losing my mind guys, any word would be greatly appreciated..
Thank you
Edited by Mendes Nabil

You mentioned "balance" at the end of your post. That is the most important thing to consider when making a film. Balancing the creative pursuit with the business of filmmaking.