Good or bad idea to work on fan film projects?

• Premium Member

I see so many of these things post on YouTube and elsewhere that I'm guessing it's okay, especially if there's a paycheque involved, but it just seems to be tainted with the fact that you're working on a project that doesn't belong to the producers who are paying you.

Does anyone have any thoughts on this?

• Premium Member

No idea what the actual repercussions, if any, could be. But it strikes me that the negative potential outweighs the positive.

I'd steer well clear of them for safety's sake. (That's assuming you aspire to work at the level of the orginal properties that are being copied).

I'm no lawyer, but I can tell you that fan films are a subject to approach carefully. In some cases, such as Star Wars, they welcome fan films - and even have contests for them at Lucasfilm. In some cases, even the mere thought of penning a fan film will result in a cease and desist letter. The one universal deal though is this: You cannot charge anything for the film. Nothing. Not a penny. You really should not even accept donations. Any inkling that your profiting from the venture is a no-no in the fan film genre. Wanna put it up on Youtube? Make sure monitiization with ads is off.

As for how its viewed, I'd say it depends. What is your role? If you're the cinematographer, then a good looking reel is a good looking reel, and few should care what the basis for the material was. In reality, it should be the same for most creative positions - directors included. The one area I would think would not look favorably upon it would be as a Producer - though I could be wrong about this.

The reality is, most fan films are crap. Chances are, it will neither hinder not advance your career. On the off chance it's a successful fan film (I don't mean financially, I mean thinking along the lines of Born of Hope, the Lord of the Rings Fan films) then it could potentially even open doors.

Edited by Landon D. Parks